Thread: Remission from RA

diane4996 is offline ADBB Amateur

Smile Remission from RA

I've been doing Atkins for about 2 months and noticed after the first few days that I was pain free. Totally pain free. My first blood test after I started this diet showed my sed rate had fallen to 5. The bloodwork I had done last Friday said my sed rate is 6. I saw my rheumatologist yesterday and I told her I thought I was in remission. She said that in her heart she thinks so, but as a doctor she wants to see a few more sed rates in the single numbers. She said she will learn from me about this way of eating and lessening of RA symptoms and use me as an example to her other patients. The last time I saw her, we discussed beginning Remicade. Now I'm not on any meds at all (but will go back on them immediately if symptoms come back.) I stopped meds on my own 2 months ago after the symptoms disappeared, but now the dr agrees that it's ok to stay off them . I feel like a new person!! I know Atkins can't make any claims about helping RA, but I'm giving this diet all the credit since pain went away so soon after starting it.

atkinsgal08 is offline ADBB Admiral

Blog Entries

Default Re: Remission from RA

What a wonderful thing to have happen!
    J.

Your life will never change until you change your choices.

Atkins since 2003, maintenance since 2005

Browneyedmelly is offline ADBB Admiral

Diane, I am so happy for you.....

liv
    Moderator Emeritus

Blog Entries
    Images

That is such good news.
    Startdate: November 18, 2007. Female 5'2" "accidental overeater" sw/cw/gw 75/57/57 GOAL
    4 years on Atkins. "Nothing but the rain, Sir" again

Boot Camp Announced. Sign up HERE
    http://www.atkinsdietbulletinboard.c...amp/115951.htm

Elimination of certain foods (a hypoallergenic diet) have been shown to reduce inflammation and other symptoms for RA. Many of those foods include grains (oats, wheat, corn), milk, and more. Wheat is often most problematic.