Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Atkins after thyroidectomy

• Display

Default Atkins after thyroidectomy

Hi all, I'm new with some questions. I recently had a total thyroidectomy and have started gaining weight. I started Atkins today. Along with my thyroid meds I have to take calcium 4 times a day due to low calcium. I went and bought some sugar free Tums today and didnt notice until later that they contain Aspartame. The regular ones contain sugar, so I dont know what to do. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Re-start date 2/14/12

225/223/145

Default Re: Atkins after thyroidectomy

Hi Carleybee-I'm new also and had my thyroid removed a lot of years ago. Every year I have gained and it is so hard for me to lose. I am hoping Atkins will work for me. I can't offer any real help to you but we can keep track of each other thru this forum and at least offer encouragement. I really do think that not having a thyroid makes it very hard for us to burn calories but lots of doctors have told me that is not true. So. . . . But, I know that I have to lose 50 pounds so I will feel better so I will eat lots of meat, a little salad, some veges, and do a lot of walking on the treadmill at the gym. When it feels right, I will add some weight training. Let's do this! Let's lose enough weight to where we feel really, really good!!! K???