Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kidney Disease

• Display

Default Kidney Disease

Yesterday my husband was told by his doctor that he has the beginnings of kidney disease caused by his
    diabetes. I looked up diet suggestions from Dr Atkins and found that he says that people with kidney disease should not do Atkins. Atkins really is the only diet that has worked for us but we fall off of the wagon so regularly whave been our own worsed enemies. I am now looking to see how I can feed my husband without causing the cravings that most diets cause particularly low calorie diets which leave him hungry.

I wonder if any of you have come accross this problem of eating less protein. He has been advised to eat fish, whole grains, broccoli, squash and lentils.

Default Re: Kidney Disease

I am not an expert.. it's why I really don't answer these kinds of questions.. however I wanted to say to please take care of your husband... I saw my mother in law go thru some horrendous things because she didn't take care of herself.. when she was told she had the beginning of kidney disease... that's all I really wanted to say....I wish him well...

I understand where you are coming from Browneyedelly, I think this is the wake up call for both of us, and yes I will look after him. We usually share the pizza, ice cream and any other indulgence that we fall for so this time I shall be there to remind him that I love him and don't want to lose him particularly when we can do something about it.

Thank you for your good wishes they are appreciated.

You will need to talk to your doctor about this, but could you/your husband start at a higher carb level, with most of those carbs coming from vegetables... and substitute some of the protein for fat?
    Low carb since December 2007
    Maintenance since June 2010

My FitDay journal