Thread: Type 1/Juvenile Diabetes anyone?

• Display

Default Type 1/Juvenile Diabetes anyone?

Any one out there who is or has Type 1 and has tried this with success or failure? Or anyone with personal/medical information to share with us? My 13 year old daughter has put on 20 lbs in last year and I really want to help her get it off but we want to hear some testimonies if there are any?

Default Re: Type 1/Juvenile Diabetes anyone?

It is very very hard to find anyone with type 1 diabetes on these community boards but I have had type 1 diabetes for over 30 years - I was diagnosed at age 12. I have struggled my whole diabetic life with weight loss. Insulin + carbs = weight gain. I am currently doing Atkins and having tremendous success in keeping my blood sugars well within normal range (BUT remember I have over 30 years experience and you have to be able to keep a really, really close eye on her blood sugars or she will go low blood sugar wise!!) I have been able to reduce my insulin by more than 3/4 (I was taking 4 ac break, 8 ac lunch and 12 ac dinner plus Lantus 20 at night) I now take 0-2 ac break, 2 at lunch and 4 at dinner plus 18 Lantus at night.